Date: 1st June 2016 at 4:09pm
Written by:

Northampton Town are represented in the Football League’s, League Two, Team Of The Season that has been selected after the end of the current campaign.

With all the Play Off Finals now decided and the football pyramid from the Premier League down to League Two set for the coming 2016/17 season, the Football League have announced their divisional Teams of the campaign.

The performances by Adam Smith, John-Joe O’Toole, Ricky Holmes and manager Chris Wilder in 2015/16 all saw them acknowledged in the final eleven + manager selection.

Explaining the choice, the FL blurb read.


‘Smith was an unknown entity prior to his arrival at Northampton last summer, but an outstanding season saw him included in the Football Manager Team of the Season at the Football League Awards.’


‘After starting the season on the transfer list, O’Toole became a shining light in Northampton’s run to the title. He scored an impressive 12 goals and became a cult hero at Sixfields in the process.’


‘Holmes missed a large part of the season through injury, but the talented winger was central to the Cobblers’ assault on the title with a series of dominant displays and match-winning moments.’


‘It was a season to remember for everyone connected to Northampton Town and Wilder was the man at the helm. The Cobblers amassed 99 points on their way to the Sky Bet League 2 title – 13 more than second-placed Oxford United – and broke several club records en route.’

The full team selected was:

Adam Smith (Northampton Town), Tom Lockyer (Bristol Rovers), Curtis Nelson (Plymouth Argyle), Adam Webster (Portsmouth), John-Joe O’Toole (Northampton Town), Kemar Roofe (Oxford United), Liam Sercombe (Oxford United), Matt Crooks (Accrington Stanley), Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town), Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers), Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley).

Manager – Chris Wilder (Northampton Town).